The Four Baptisms

The Four Baptisms

MANY PEOPLE THINK THERE IS ONLY ONE BAPTISM, THE BAPTISM OF WATER, while some believe there is also a baptism of the Holy Spirit. Some people believe that there is a baptism of the Holy Spirit before a water baptism and visa versa. Scripture tells us that there is more than one type of baptism in the book of Hebrews where it states:

“Of the teaching of baptisms…” (Hebrews 6:2)

Since the word “baptism” is used in the plural, it should be obvious that there is more than one baptism. The purpose of this study will be to discuss the four types of baptism: Water, Fire, Spirit and Death, and to describe each of them.

It is difficult to describe the normal person’s acceptance of Christ but we will assume that a person hears of God’s Word and Christ through the testimony of others, and hears a preacher or two and decides to become a believer in Christ. Once a person believes, Scripture requires a confession of faith:

“And it shall be, that, whosoever shall call on the name of the Lord shall be saved.” (Acts 2:21)

“Because if thou shalt confess with thy mouth Jesus as Lord, and shalt believe in thy heart that God raised him from the dead, thou shalt be saved: For with the heart {mind} man believeth unto righteousness; and with the mouth confession is made unto salvation.” (Romans 10:9-10)

“He that believeth and is baptized shall be saved.” (Mark 16:16)